The Waxahachie High School Lady Indians soccer team wrapped up the 2019 season with its annual banquet, held April 26.

Accolades announced during the evening’s festivities included a program overall record of 42-15-6, with JV2 attaining its first winning season in program history.

“This is the first year we had all three teams finish with winning seasons,” head coach Jason Venable said, noting that JV1’s season honors included going undefeated in the Cement Capital Classic of Midlothian.

The varsity team went 19-8, making the playoffs in its first ever year to compete in 6A competition. The 19 wins represent the third most wins in program history and included 11 shutouts.

The varsity team’s 119 goals on season is second only to the 120 scored by the 2011 regional semifinalists team. The 2019 team has six collegiate signees, the most ever in one year. In all, the team is graduating 11 seniors, the most in program history.

On the varsity team, 12 received all-district honors as determined by District 7-6A coaches, with two of those named as superlative award winners.

The team includes the sixth all-time goal scorer amongst its group of seniors, with a four-year career encompassing 54 goals, of which 27 were achieved this year.

The varsity team also saw a freshman score 16 goals, the second most ever as a freshman. The team’s goalkeeper moved into sixth place in career shutouts amongst the team records.

For the first time ever, the program saw three varsity players with 50 or more points on a season, with six players into double digit goals in one season.

Two members were named to the academic all-district team, with the team ending its district record at 10-6, which is the second most district wins ever posted in a season.

The team members also voted on and chose the recipients of the yearly awards presented at the banquet. These included:

• Captain’s Award – Madelynn James

• Academic All-District – Raquel Acosta and Peyton Renfro

• Most Improved Player – Alexis “Pepper” Castro

• Heart and Hustle – Peyton Renfro (50 points)

• Defensive MVP – Leah Larson

• Offensive MVP – Savanna Duvall (57 points) and Angel Garfias (58 points)

• Team MVP – Bella Curiel (10 goals, 16 assists)

• Scholarship Recipients – Danielle Kyle and Sophie Melick

Venable also recognized the program’s coaches (Edward De La Druz, Johnny West and Lyndsey Vera), the trainers (Alex Vega and EJ Hairston), manager (Tucker Venable) and ball girls.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.