The Spirit of Waxahachie Indian Band program closed out the TMEA Area round of state band auditions Saturday by adding nine All-State 6A Band qualifiers and three state alternates to their list of state qualifiers – bringing its total all-state honorees to 11, including its All-State Jazz musicians.

“Congratulations to our Waxahachie HS band staff of directors, Rich Armstrong, Justin Bell, Reggie Cook and Parker Davis, as well as our vertical JH Band Staff and various private lesson instructors for your commitment to our musicians in WISD,” the WISD Fine Arts official Facebook page read in making the announcement.

Accolades for the Spirit of Waxahachie continued Monday night, when the WISD band program, directors and members were recognized by the WISD board of trustees.

Fine Arts director Phillip Morgan cited the Spirit of Waxahachie’s numerous honors and awards received to date in the 2019-2020 school year, which kicked off with numerous awards during marching season, a pattern that has continued on into the midst of its concert season.

“The Waxahachie High School Band program, under the leadership of head band director, Mr. Rich Armstrong and his staff, Mr. Justin Bell, Mr. Reggie Cook and Mr. Parker Davis, has received the Phi Beta Mu, 2019 Earl D. Irons Program of Distinction Award for superior musical achievement in Concert, Marching and Jazz Band programs areas, having been selected as a TMEA Honor Band, UIL State Marching medalist and Midwest Clinic & Conference invited band program, among other accolades,” Morgan said, recognizing also the band program’s feeder band instructors, David Ingram, Laura Seale, Courtney Davis, Armando Vera, John Pickett and Macy Lee for their efforts. “At last count, the Waxahachie ISD band staff and feeder program have qualified 11 All-State, 34 All-Area and 94 All-Region high school students in audition competition for the 2019-2020 academic year in musical performance.”

All-State, All-Area and All-Region honorees are named in three categories of competition: band, jazz and orchestra. The Spirit of Waxahachie’s 11 All-State members include nine band and two jazz honorees. The 34 All-Area members include 18 band, 10 jazz and six orchestra honorees. The 94 All-Region members include 70 band, 15 jazz and nine orchestra honorees.

The 2020 TMEA All-State 6A members named from Waxahachie High School were:

• Ariel Torres – Piccolo

• Logan Boyd – Oboe

• Lilyanna Armstrong – Bb Clarinet

• Caitlan Richardson – Alto Clarinet

• Johnni Fuller – Bass Clarinet

• Mason Miller – Alto Saxophone

• Danielle Lisiecki – Tenor Saxophone

• Emma Watson – Horn

• Richard Olokode – Tuba

• Ben Barker – Jazz Piano

• Ashtin Rostetter – Jazz Trumpet

The 2020 State alternates named were:

• Maggie Ochoa – Eb Clarinet

• Dhruval Rangrej – Baritone Saxophone

• Jair Gonzales – Trombone

Students who qualified for area were: Cade Andrews, Allyssa Fisher, Johnni Fuller, Jair Gonzalez, Nicole Holmberg, Ryan Johnson, CJ Lightfoot, Danielle Lisiecki, Mason Miller, Clara Moriarty, Maggie Ochoa, Richard Olokode, Diego Ramos, Dhruval Rangrej, Caitlin Richardson, Ariel Torres, Lizbeth Velazquez, Camden Williams, Lilyanna Armstrong, Logan Boys, Leah Gonzalez, Acacia Johnson, Eli Saenz, Emma Watson, Ben Barker and Ashtin Rostetter.

Students who qualified for region were: Nifemi Aiyegoro, Cade Andrews, Lilyanna Armstrong, Charles Autry, Misty Auvenshine, Rosario Baez, Ben Barker, Madison Bazemore, Logan Boyd, Brianna Brice, Ethan Brown, Michael Cole, Jaxson Cooper, Miles Davis, Nicholas Dorazil, Jordan Dunn, Allyssa Fisher, Tyler Friedmann, Johnni Fuller, Christian Garza, Marisabel Garza, Jair Gonzalez, Leah Gonzalez, Dylan Graham, Kendalyn Harrison, Preston Hendrick, Amy Hernandez, Nicole Holmberg, Joseph Jimenez, Acacia Johnson, Ryan Johnson, Mallory Jones, Mikayla Lehman, CJ Lightfoot, Danielle Lisiecki, Fernando Lozano, Jacob Major, Ja’Garrian McCline, Cameron Meaney, Skyler Melin, Mason Miller, Samuel Molina, Brandon Moore, Daphne Morgan, Ryan Morgan, Clara Moriarty, Maggie Ochoa, Richard Olokode, Brianna Padron, Danil Pak, Parker Pomykal, Dylan Potter, Diego Romos, Dhruval Rangrej, Caitlin Richardson, Clayton Riley, Emmanuel Rodriguez, Miranda Rosas, Ashtin Rostetter, Sarah Russell, McKenzie Ryer, Eli Saenz, Ashley Salazar, Sebastian Salazar, Benjamin Sambell, Eric Speelman, Cole Spitzer, Ariel Torres, Lizbeth Velazquez, Ryan Vencill, Jurnee Verbeck, Christiana Vien, Emma Watson and Camden Williams.

Students receiving jazz band honors were: Ashtin Rostetter, Ben Barker, Jair Gonzalez, Diego Ramos, Mason Miller, Dhruval Rangrej, Cade Andrews, Acacia Johnson, Ethan Brown, Danielle Lisiecki, Tyler Friedmann, Lilyanna Armstrong, Lizbeth Velazquez, Camden Williams, Ryan Johnson, Eli Saenz, Nicholas Dorazil, Charles Autry and Benjamin Sambell.

Students receiving orchestra honors were: Danielle Lisiecki, Mason Miller, Caitlin Richardson, Lilyanna Armstrong, Logan Boyd, Emma Watson, Ryan Johnson, Acacia Johnson and Eli Saenz.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.