Award Recipients, 2021.jpg

Shown are (from left) Sgt. Chance Huckabee, supervisor of the year; Wade Goolsby, chief of police; Michelle Burks, civilian of the year; and officer Dustin Koch – officer of the year.

Waxahachie Police officers, staff and their families attended the Waxahachie Police Department’s annual awards ceremony, Friday, Nov. 5, at The Venue at The Avenue Church. Twenty officers and staff were presented with various awards for their heroic actions and exemplary service to Waxahachie residents and the Waxahachie Police Department.

Each year, WPD officers and staff nominate deserving individuals for the various awards, including civilian of the year, supervisor of the year, and officer of the year awards; certificate of merit, meritorious conduct, and lifesaving awards; and the Jeff Springer, John Spalding, and Josh Williams awards.

The awards committee, comprised of numerous officers and staff, carefully reviews all the nominations, discussing the circumstances and merits of each. The names of the award recipients are kept confidential until they are announced at the annual awards ceremony. 

Chief Wade Goolsby welcomed the crowd of more than 100 attendees and recognized dignitaries in attendance that included city manager Michael Scott and deputy city manager Albert Lawrence.

“This is one of the most enjoyable nights of the year for me,” Goolsby said. “To recognize the actions and accomplishments of the employees of this department and being part of such a great department is truly an honor.”

Goolsby, with the assistance of assistant chiefs Joe Wiser and Dale Sigler, began the awards presentation with the certificate of merit award. Presented to officers or civilians in recognition for their exceptional effort and a job well done, the 2021 certificate of merit recipients were officers Andy Smith, Joe Fields, Kevin Patterson, Aarron Brasher, Dylan Snyder, Jacorey Jefferson, Connor Stevenson, Lt. Stephen Sanders, along with 911 dispatchers Clara Hopkins and Kaitlyn Shimel. 

The meritorious conduct award is presented to officers for their outstanding meritorious achievement or service demonstrated through outstanding performance of duty under clearly hazardous and complicated conditions, or when the service delivered clearly contributed to a high degree of success in a difficult or complicated project or task by an individual. The officers presented with the 2021 meritorious conduct award were Ray Skidmore, Daniel Heiskell, Aarron Brasher, Tony Mikeska, and Lt. Marcus Brown. 

The police commendation award was presented to Lindsey Sims, the communications supervisor for outstanding performance in implementing a new computer-aided dispatch system and records management system. 

Receiving the lifesaving award were officers Daniel Heiskell, Jacorey Jefferson, Shelby Lytle, and Tony Mikeska. This award is presented to outstanding individuals for their successful effort in saving a human life.

Three of the annual awards honor Waxahachie officers, John Spalding, Jeff Springer, and Josh Williams, who gave their lives in the performance of their duties. Selected by the chief of police and his command staff, these awards recognize individuals in specific areas of performance or achievement.

The John Spalding award is presented to the officer demonstrating the highest commitment to physical fitness, with the 2021 award presented to officer Darrell Wafer.

The Jeff Springer award is conferred to one officer who has made a significant contribution toward officer tactics, shooting, or survival skills. Special guest Jackie Spurgeon Springer-Koch, widow of fallen officer Lt. Jeff Springer, assisted Goolsby in awarding the 2021 award to Lt. Mike Lewis.

The Josh Williams award is awarded to the WPD employee who contributes the most toward the arrests and or prosecution of intoxicated drivers, with the 2021 award presented to officer Tanner Mason.

The annual award event culminated with the presentation of the civilian of the year, supervisor of the year, and officer of the year awards. Selected by their peers, these awards are presented to the individuals who reflect the highest standards of conduct for a law enforcement officer or support staff in their prospective positions. The 2021 civilian of the year was presented to Michelle Burks, Sgt. Chance Huckabee was recognized as the supervisor of the year, and officer of the year was awarded to officer Dustin Koch. 

The Waxahachie Police Department strives to be a recognized leader in public safety by working in partnership with the community and providing honorable service for a safer Waxahachie. It is a “Recognized” police agency by the Texas Police Chief Association.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.