The city of Waxahachie’s Animal Services will spray for mosquitoes from 9 p.m.-5 a.m. Thursday, June 11, and will follow a schedule that sees spraying every 10 days thereafter. The date is tentative, weather permitting, and subject to change.

City staff will also be setting and checking traps by quadrants during the summer months to make assessments for numbers of mosquitoes. If at any time the numbers are low and indicate no need for spraying, adjustments will be made accordingly. Residents are asked to assist the city in keeping the mosquito population down by also taking preventive measures.

The process to spray the entire city takes from six to eight hours with two trucks and two people.

The tentative spraying schedule is as follows:

Thursday, June 11

Monday, June 22

Thursday, July 2

Monday, July 13

Tuesday, July 23

Monday, Aug. 3

Thursday, Aug. 13

Thursday, Aug. 27

Friday, Sept. 4

Monday, Sept. 14

Thursday, Sept. 24

Sunday, Oct. 4

For questions regarding mosquito spraying, contact Terri Muniz at 469-309- 4150 or email tmuniz@waxahachiepd.org.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.